Geese

They were all across the mall. The geese. You could hear them from a block away as they ate. Little warbling sounds, and bills snuffing in the grass that was all muddy from the melting snow. I wish I knew what they were eating; whatever it was it was tasty- they barely looked up for the passersby. Coming or going. I walked across the mall and, in a mad thought, wanted to run right through the herd. I told myself that if I stepped on thier shit, I would. I didn’t. My eyes were too keen on the ground as I walked away.


Listening to Smother by Daughter

Leave a Reply

