When Your Shovel Breaks

When your shovel breaks I got another one in the backseat of my car, playing another lovesong and hoping you’d’ just stop. Cause he’s not worth all this trouble and he’s not on the other end of this whole you’re digging. He’s with someone else he would dig a grave for all the way to China and back. And not you. But it falls on deaf ears and you come back for another shovel. I give it to you letting my hand linger a bit but I relent with a half-hearted smile and a thumbs up. I’m hoping this is the last trip, that you give up, sit down, and have a drink and finally see the dirt on my hands and he two broken shovels in the back- failed attempts at digging to get to you.


Listening to Kicks by FKA twigs

Leave a Reply

